Chewy Molasses Ginger Snaps and Theo Chocolate Cupcakes

I didn’t leave the house at all on Saturday. I had a cold and babied myself with naps and tea. In the 70 degree sunshine on the porch in the morning, I finished A House For Mr Biswas by VS Naipaul and had myself a little cry. I consoled myself by thinking of the stack of his novels by my bed.

I’ve been reading VS Naipaul for about a month now. I started with A Way in the World, a fictionalized autobiography and fictional history of colonialism. It was beautiful and informative, highly recommended, but a tough way to dive in. I much preferred the intimate and playful storytelling in my next read, Ms Biswas. I was there for his birth, his death, and everything in between — his many houses and families. I got to learn a little bit about Trinidad’s society and culture and about colonialism in the Caribbean. Now I have just begun Miguel Street and I am excited to read more.

In the afternoon, I baked. I made chewy molasses ginger snaps and Theo chocolate yogurt cupcakes. I made the ginger snaps once before and burnt them after receiving a surprising phone call. These ones I made spicier, and with chopped candied ginger.

Chewy Molasses Ginger Snaps

ginger snaps

Adapted from The Kitchn. Makes 4 dozen cookies.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, very soft

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup dark molasses

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1 egg

2 1/4 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon powdered ginger

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 cup candied ginger, chopped

1/2 cup granulated sugar, for rolling

Whip butter, olive oil, molasses and brown sugar. Add the egg. Add the flour, salt, baking soda and spices. Mix in candied ginger. Refrigerate dough for at least 30 minutes, or until hard.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and pour sugar into a shallow bowl. Separate dough into four equal chunks. Break each chunk into 16 pieces, roll into sugar, and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes.

Cool, if you can, and see how long they last. Spicy, chewy, satisfying.

An aside — I forgot to roll mine in the sugar this time. My kitchen suddenly became busy with others cooking some kind of Hawaiian fried chicken and I was distracted. They were delicious. The cookies and the chicken.

While the cookie dough was hardening in the fridge, I set to work on Theo Chocolate Yogurt Cupcakes.

Theo chocolate cupcakes

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen. Makes 12 cupcakes.

7 ounces dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

1 cup sugar

3 large eggs, at room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

1 cup chocolate chips

For the frosting:

4 ounces unsalted butter, salted

4 ounces cream cheese, salted

2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper liners.

In a metal bowl over boiling water, melt the chocolate with 1/4 cup of the oil, stirring. When smooth, remove from heat.

Mix the remaining 1/4 cup oil with yogurt, sugar, eggs, vanilla and almond extracts.

Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt. Combine with the yogurt mixture and the chocolates; mix lightly.

Fill the muffin tin and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until barely set in the middle.

cupcakes

As you can see, frosting isn’t necessary. But it is delicious. And so I did. If you want to:

1/4 cup cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup cocoa powder

Cream.Theo chocolate cupcake

Be sure to enjoy these delights as I did — while watching Young Adult with friends. I really like that movie.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Leave a Reply

