East Coast Calling

The nice thing about having a problem is that I am reminded of my wonderful nonjudgemental friends who are always there for me. I may be lonely in Seattle, but I am not alone in the world.

Last night I enjoyed some alone time of reading and research and Parks and Rec. I got organized. I cooked some veggies in order to feel like myself. Right when I was getting real cozy under that heavy comforter, my worst fear appeared before my very eyes. My left eye to be exact, in the bottom left corner of my vision. That horrible swirling rainbow. A migraine. It manifested itself as a headache and the idea of a headache and confusion and vomiting. Lots of vomiting. I threw up for hours, threw up even my smallest sips of water, until finally, shivering, I fell asleep.

That was my first migraine in two years. I guess I felt as stressed last night as I did when my taxes were filed incorrectly.

Today was better. I woke up; I was alive. Work filled my day and I planned on filling my night with art. The first Thursday of the month is free admission at the SAM and Gallery Night in Pioneer Square. Gallery Night in Pioneer Square confuses me because the galleries are always free. But who am I to argue with good marketing and free and art?

The road to free art is littered with temptations and distractions. A $10 bill on the ground became a $10 bill in my wallet. A suggestion of alley booze and food went unfulfilled. A shy eyed man in a bike shop had a locally picked four leaf clover just for me.

Once I fought my way out of that saccharine quicksand, I was free. Free to go where I wanted, free to walk the streets alone. I walked north on 1st to the SAM, my shoulder breaking, permanently sloping, under the weight of my laptop. Lucky for me and the other packmules in Seattle, SAM not only has free admission on the first Thursday of the month, but also… free coat check!

Up the escalator I glided (glid?), and what to my wondering eyes did appear? Horseshoe Falls!

horseshoe falls

 

I turned to the right, and lo and behold, a buffalo!

 

buffalo

Home is calling, I can hear you! But I have made a promise to Seattle and I’m not ready to break it yet.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

2 responses to “East Coast Calling”

  1. Margie Shapiro says :

    I absolutely love reading your posts. Sometimes I find myself nodding, as I agree with what you are saying; but not always …. Mostly, they bring a smile to my face. You are a gifted writer!!! Don’t stop!

Leave a Reply

