Yummy Easy Cut-Outs

I am trying to make thumbprint cookies right now but the butter is fresh from the store and very hard so I decided to break and write while the butter softens. I already tried mixing the butter, sugar and almond extract before I decided to give up, and the almond extract is making my kitchen smell so incredible, it’s inspiring me to make almond cut-outs next time. This time I made sugar cut-outs with plain ole vanilla extract. Despite their lack of grandeur, they are still amazing, delicious, and highly recommended.

sugar cut-outs

Yes, I did make Star of David cookies and ice them red and green for Christmas. These cookies are ultimate holiday inclusiveness.

You’ll need:

  • 2+ cups flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 3/4 sticks butter at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

For the icing:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 3 tbs milk
  • food dye or sprinkles

(I actually just used leftover icing from my maple walnut cookies. When I ran out, I added lemon juice instead of maple syrup for a different flavor.)

Whisk together flour and baking powder in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add egg and vanilla. Incorporate flour mixture. Place dough on plastic wrap or aluminum foil, flatten into a 1-inch-thick disk, refrigerate for between 2 hours and 3 days.

When you’re ready to bake, heat oven to 375 degrees. Flour a clean work surface and rolling pin. Take out the dough disk and lightly flour both sides. Roll out the dough to a 1/4 inch thickness. Cut out cookies with a cookie cutter and place on a lined cookie sheet. Don’t place them too close together–these cookies will spread. Bake cookies for 10 minutes. When they are done cooking, let them cool on the baking sheet for 1 minute, then transfer to a cooling rack.

While the cookies are baking, reform the dough scraps into a new disk and refrigerate. Repeat this process until all the cookies are baked.

To frost, I’ll just copy and paste my instructions for those maple walnut cookies.

To make the glaze, heat the butter until it begins to change color, then remove from heat and allow to cool completely. Mix in confectioner’s sugar, lemon juice, milk one tablespoon at a time until you reach your desired consistency. Brush glaze on cookies with a paint brush (I did) or a pastry brush if you’ve got one. Let the frosting harden and then stick them in the fridge or the freezer, whatever you’re planning!

I added red food dye to some of my icing and green to the rest, and painted the sides separately. But I’m no decorating pro. Be creative, add sprinkles, there are a lot you can do with this cookies! And here is a recipe for a harder icing I’ve never made if you want to write or draw faces.

This is the recipe I followed to make the cookies.

Earlier today, before buying butter, I went into the Penzeys Spices in Pike Place Market to get crystallized ginger for some cookies that are coming soon. I got a good amount of ginger for an insanely reasonable price, and have had great experiences there in the past (potent and inexpensive Indonesian cinnamon, saffron for tea that keeps going and going). I’m planning on becoming a regular customer over at Penzeys, and was tempted today by vanilla extracts from different countries. Now I know I was talking some smack about maple flavoring yesterday, but above the vanilla on the shelf were extracts of all different flavors–cinnamon, pumpkin pie, rose… So I’m thinkin’, why not make cut-outs (or cupcakes) in different crazy flavors?

I’m getting excited!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

4 responses to “Yummy Easy Cut-Outs”

  1. Emma says :

    i’m glad you are already putting the cookie cutters to good use!

Leave a Reply

