Killer French Toast

Yesterday I didn’t leave the house till after 8:00. I didn’t shower until 6. How was I spending my lazy indoor Sunday, you may ask?

Baking.

When I first woke up, I was hungry so I decided to make French toast. I used killer bread and the Joy of Cooking’s All About Breakfast & Brunch. I’m so in love with that cookbook. In the introduction to my breakfast, it reads, “When hungry breakfasters call out for French toast, this is what the hope they will get.” It offers recipes for honey-bun French toast, filled French toast, and overnight baked French toast as well as the traditional kind I made. And it’s available on Amazon for one penny.

The bread I used was full of whole grains and seeds, and Ben and I honestly didn’t like it for a sandwich or toast–too busy–but it made a mean French toast! The grains and seeds added a marvelous texture to a dish that can be kind of soppy and uniform. Plus, killer bread is super healthy!

photo from Dave's Facebook fan page; I used the green one

photo from Dave’s Facebook fan page; I used the green one

I think I used:

  • 7 or 8 slices of bread
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream and half-and-half, mixed (using up leftovers)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

The recipe called for salt but I used salted butter so I figured they would make up for each other. And the recipe didn’t even include cinnamon, and I just remembered to add it halfway through making the French toast, so my earlier pieces don’t have any. I think cinnamon is always a welcome ingredient.

In a shallow bowl, whisk together all of the above ingredients except for the bread. Melt 2 tbs butter in a skillet over medium heat. Soak the bread in the mixture on side at a time, then transfer bread to the skillet. My skillet was big enough to hold two pieces at once. When the underside of the bread is golden brown, flip and cook until the opposite side has the same color. I had to melt more butter when cooking later slices.

I kept on soaking and cooking bread until the mixture was all used up, which is how I went through 7 or 8 slices. The recipe called for 6. I could have soaked the bread a little longer, but it was extremely delicious, moist, and sweet. I ate the French toast with a little bit of maple syrup, but it wasn’t even necessary because the French toast was so flavorful on its own. Ben would have liked his dusted with a bit of powdered sugar, but I didn’t want to open a bag just for that.

Later in the day I iced a lot of cookies, so we’ll certainly be able to have powdered sugar on our leftovers! And do we have leftovers! I only ate one piece, Ben ate two, and we were both completely full. That hearty seedy bread certainly kept us feeling full for a long time.

And, just so you know, the end pieces are the most amazing! I let them soak extra long, and their hard seeded crust just made the French toast even more textured and delicious!

Yesterday I also baked cookies, and iced some as I mentioned before, but Ben just finished making biscuits and gravy so I’m going to take a very important snack break. There are more recipes to come!

Tags: , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Cookies Cookies Cookies « Not Ready To Have It All - December 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

