Cookies Cookies Cookies

After making delicious French toast yesterday morning, I just had to keep on baking. I’m extravagantly planning on sending an assortment of holiday cookies to my family and friends, which is making December a very busy and butter-filled month. Last week I baked maple and cut-out cookies and planned on icing them yesterday. But first, I had to get some chocolate chip cookies in the oven.

chocolate chip cookies

That’s oatmeal chocolate cranberry cookies, to be exact. What a great holiday combination. I followed a recipe for triple-chocolate cranberry oatmeal cookies, but just used 1 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips instead of a half cup each of dark, milk, and white. I don’t even know if they’re good because I haven’t tried any because I’m planning on sending them to people! Though I did make so many–I made small cookies and the dough kept going and going–that I’ll probably be able to sneak at least one.

I used:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 sticks butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Whisk flour, baking soda, and cinnamon in medium bowl. In a separate bowl, mix butter and both sugars until smooth. I used extremely room-temperature butter and a round metal spoon and my butter and sugars creamed together so nicely.

butter sugar creamed

At first I tried to use a potato masher and that didn’t go so well.

mashed butter

Mix in egg and vanilla. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Mix in oats. Add chocolate chips and cranberries.

I rolled the dough into small balls in my hand and placed them two inches apart on a cookie sheet lined in aluminum foil. I fit 15 cookies to a pan. Bake for 11-12 minutes (mine were very finicky), let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooking rack (or in my case, a plate). End result:

da cookies

A good amount of spread; those cookies aren’t so tiny anymore. I’m anxious to try one. Yum. Just writing all that is making me feel hungry!

But I’ve got more cookies to talk about. The first cookies I baked this week (and frosted later) were maple walnut cookies with a maple butter glaze. I’ve been obsessed with maple since trying the vegan maple ice cream we used to have at work, and tis the season for a big mapley cookie.

maple walnut cookies with maple butter glaze

And these cookies aren’t just big. They’re huge and decadent and now do my tiny chocolate chip cookies make more sense?

Let’s do it:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I didn’t have sour cream at home, instead I had old pieces of carrots IN A SOUR CREAM CONTAINER IN THE FRIDGE, so I used a weird combination of milk, butter, and lemon juice that made my cookies run and necessitated I add more flour after the first batch went through. Buy sour cream.)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

For the glaze:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar, UNsifted (I didn’t sift it and I think it was fine)
  • 1 tbs maple syrup
  • 3 tbs milk

The recipe actually called for maple flavoring as well as syrup, but I didn’t feel like buying it and wanted to stick to the real maple syrup.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream together butter, sugar and eggs. Add maple syrup and sour cream. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. Mix wet and dry ingredients. Stir in walnuts.

The recipe said drop dough by rounded tablespoons. I say no way, unless you want huge bloated cookies like mine. Try rolling the dough into small balls like I did for those chocolate cookies, and see what happens. You’ll probably have to adjust the baking time as well. I baked my cookies for 10-12 minutes or until “lightly browned.”

bloat

bloat

To make the glaze, heat the butter until it begins to change color (?) then remove from heat and allow to cool completely. Mix in confectioner’s sugar, maple syrup, milk one tablespoon at a time until you reach your desired consistency. Brush glaze on cookies with a paint brush (I did) or a pastry brush if you’ve got one. Let the frosting harden and then stick them in the fridge or the freezer, whatever you’re planning!

This is what they look like frozen:

brrrrr

brrrrr

Now I know I made cut-out sugar cookies as well, but I’ve got to jump in the shower and run to work! Guess I should have named this post Cookies Cookies.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Leave a Reply

