Blueberry-Raspberry

Let’s talk about pie.

Pictured above is a slice of seven-layer chocolate and caramel layer cake that I did NOT make (shipped to us frozen by my roommate’s parents in South Carolina) and, with less grandiosity but just as much flavor, a slice of blueberry-raspberry pie with a ginger snap crust and copious amounts of maple whipped cream that I DID make. Thanksgiving is so amazing, isn’t it?

I would love to tell you how to make that cake, and would love to make it myself, but I’ve never made a layer cake before! Stay tuned; once I do, you’ll be the first to hear about it.

Anyway, like I said before, we’re here to talk about pie. The blueberries and raspberries are from Pike Place Market. The ginger snaps are from Trader Joe’s, with some multigrain Cheerios thrown in to fill in the blanks. The maple syrup came out of the cutest little syrup sample at Target. (It is possible, I’m sure, to get all the ingredients for this pie in one place, but I never find myself doing that.)

Does this photo accurately depict how tiny my syrup is?

What you’ll need…

…for the crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups gingersnap cookie crumbs (Feel free to fill in with Cheerio crumbs if you don’t have enough cookies. The Cheerios made a beautiful calico crust and the flavor was fine.)
  • 2 tbs brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted

…for the filling:

  • 2 1/2 tbs cornstarch
  • 2 tbs cold water
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 2 cups raspberries
  • 1 tbs lemon juice

…for the whipped cream:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 4 tbs maple syrup

First, make the crust. Combine cookie crumbs (and possibly Cheerio crumbs) in a bowl with sugar. I actually used three tablespoons of sugar to make up for the not-so-sweet Cheerios. Stir in the butter and press the mixture down onto the bottom and sides of a pie plate. Bake for 8 minutes at 375 degrees.

Next, make the filling. In a medium saucepan on no heat, combine the cornstarch and the cold water. Cornstarch will clump up if it’s introduced to heat too early, so the water must be cold! Add sugar and 3/4 cup of each kind of berry and bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Boil for 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in remaining berries and lemon juice, pour into pie crust, refrigerate until set.

I made the whipped cream just before serving. I doubled the whipped cream recipe (because, why not?) and dolloped it all over the pie right before I cut it. All you need to do is beat the whipping cream and maple syrup together. I used a whisk and it thickened up fine. Next time I would add at least one more teaspoon of syrup, maybe more. Everyone said they could taste the maple just fine, but I couldn’t taste any! I like my flavors strong.

whippin’ dat cream

And there you go! So easy! As fancy as this pie sounds, it is surprisingly simple to make. If you want to get creative (or if, like me, you have an odd disdain for following recipes), there are a lot of changes you could make!

You could…

  • Use a different crust
  • Use a store-bought crust
  • Use different berries, more berries, just one kind of berry!
  • Add more maple syrup to the whipping cream
  • Add a different flavor to the cream
  • Add no flavor at all!

I hope you make this pie, and I hope you love it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Leave a Reply

