I’m Sad Thanksgiving Is Over

Thanksgiving was awesome. My mom and brother came to visit. We ate all the food pictured above and more. I cooked some of it. I had a few days off of work so my life was reduced to COOKING and EATING and COOKING and EATING. It was nice.

Now suddenly Thanksgiving was almost a week ago and the leftovers are almost gone and my family is back on the other side of the country and all I can do to desperately cling to memories of a happier past is salivate at food pics and methodically type out recipes.

On Wednesday at around noon, Ben and I picked up my mom and brother at Pioneer Square. We spent most of the day grocery shopping–at Pike Place Market, at Target, and at Kress. We lugged our heavy grocery bags home (too impatient to wait for the bus) and my mom got to work making stuffing and cranberry sauce. Once she and my brother got sleepy from jet lag and travel and went back to their hotel room for an early night, I got to work! I think I was solidly cooking between 8 p.m. and 3 a.m. the night before Thanksgiving.

Of course the first thing I made was roasted veggies. I halved Brussels sprouts and shallots and diced carrots and broccoli. I chopped up some garlic pretty fine along with olive oil, salt, and pepper to cook and flavor the veggies. Next time I wouldn’t chop the garlic at all to give it a size consistent with the rest of the veggies.

Halfway thru cooking: waiting veggies and a full compost bin

All the veggies were from Pike Place Market may I add! Target provided things like nutmeg and Pillsbury crescent rolls; I got the disposable foil roasting trays from Kress.

I roasted everything at 400 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour. It was okay if everything wasn’t perfectly done because I had to put it back in the oven to reheat on the big day!

One really tough thing about Thanksgiving preparation is that you’re around so much yummy food, but you’re not allowed to eat any of it! I was starving while cooking Wednesday night, but didn’t want to put a dent in our meal the next day. Solution: I whipped up a quick ramen with chopped carrot, shallot, and one dried chili pepper. Once the noodles were cooked, I cracked an egg into the boiling water. What a easy and delicious snack!

Next on the list: knishes. Not exactly typical Thanksgiving fare, but my family in Boston (who I’ve spent almost every Thanksgiving with) always serves knishes as an appetizer. I knew I would be so sad without them and they’re so easy to make. Here’s where those Pillsbury crescent rolls come in.

Photo courtesy of my mom.

What you’ll need:

  • 5 packages Pillsbury crescent rolls (You probably won’t use them all, but it’s better to have extra than to run out halfway through. I’ve been there.)
  • 1lb ground beef (90/10 is fine)
  • 6 medium potatoes
  • Milk, butter, salt, pepper to turn potatoes into mashed potatoes
  • Lipton onion soup mix
  • 1 egg

Honestly, I hardly did anything in the preparation of these knishes. Ben browned the beef and added one package of Lipton onion soup mix. Lea peeled, diced, and boiled the potatoes. Ben mashed them, added the butter, milk, pepper, and salt, and then mixed the beef and potatoes together. Lea opened the crescent roll packages, unrolled the dough and pulled apart the triangles, put a small ball of meat and potatoes onto each, then folded them together like so. Ben scrambled an egg, then brushed each knish with the egg wash.

I delegated. I said, “Put those in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.” I said, “Where’s the mustard?” I said, “Yum, let’s eat some knishes.”

an appropriate ratio

Yes, I decided it was okay to eat knishes Wednesday night because they were an appetizer, not part of the big Thanksgiving meal!

I do have more recipes to share, but it’s time to get ready for work. You’ll have to wait until next time to hear about my blueberry-raspberry pie with a ginger snap crust and maple whipped cream!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

One response to “I’m Sad Thanksgiving Is Over”

  1. searayn says :

    Everything seems so hommy, I will be sad too!

Leave a Reply

