Banana Bread Muffins with a SECRET INGREDIENT

I sat on the couch hungry and sad for an hour this morning before I remembered there was a plate of homemade muffins sitting right in front of me.

In my defense, there was a laptop screen blocking my view.

Now I’ve eaten two, and who knows when I’m stopping!!

These muffins are best eaten hot from the oven or on a very empty morning stomach. I had one last night after a delicious leftovers-cum-masterpiece meal of biscuits and gravy with Thanksgiving turkey, and I was already so stuffed I didn’t well appreciate these muffins’ subtle fruitiness and spice.

I was a little bit ridiculous when making these muffins because I was working with frozen override bananas and fridge-hard butter. I was also following a recipe for banana bread while trying to make banana muffins. In a perfect world, ingredients would be prepped ahead of time; bananas and butter would be soft and malleable. Alas, I live in a world where I have been known to feed my cat canned tuna for a week straight because I can’t find time to buy cat food. Having every ingredient perfect (or even, having every ingredient) is not a top priority for my baking adventures.

BUT! if you want to go for it, here’s what to buy:

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 stick / 8 tbs unsalted butter AT ROOM TEMP
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 ripe bananas (The recipe called for three and I used three, but next time I’d probably throw in an extra for added banana-y-ness and moisture. Do what you wish.)
  • 1 tbs milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt (I didn’t use salt because I used salted butter, of course)
  • A SECRET INGREDIENT (more on that later)

I first preheated the oven to 325 degrees, then busied myself doing prep for the next hour (or maybe it just felt like it). My oven always comes to temp well before I’m ready and then I’m working in a hot kitchen. Keep this anecdote in mind next time you are going to preheat. Are you REALLY ready yet?

Cream together the sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time.

In a small bowl, mash bananas with a fork.

(My bananas were frozen and I don’t have a microwave so I attempted to defrost them in a cast iron skillet and then remove the peel from the half-frozen, half-hot mush. Not the way to do things! Things I’ve learned:

  • Remove banana peels before freezing
  • Defrost bananas before baking)

Add milk, cinnamon, and the SECRET INGREDIENT to the banana mash. My secret ingredient was…..

……………………………………….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

………………………………………

…GINGER!

I just peeled all the ginger in my house with a knife, diced it up, and threw it in! Your secret ingredient can be anything you want, like:

  • Chocolate chips
  • Raisins
  • Nuts
  • Peanut M&Ms
  • Crystalized ginger
  • Frozen berries

WARNING: If you add every secret ingredient all at once, your oven may explode and your banana bread muffins may become sentient.

Anyway, back to the recipe. Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, blah blah blah. Mix everything together. And… with the hope that you remembered to preheat the oven, bake that shit! I had to fudge around the numbers because I was baking muffins, not bread, but I’d recommend checking for doneness starting at 25 minutes. Stick a toothpick or fork in a muffin, and if it comes out clean, yer done!

Shove a muffin in your mouth immediately after taking it out of the oven. You deserve it!

Tags: , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

2 responses to “Banana Bread Muffins with a SECRET INGREDIENT”

  1. Emily says :

    These muffins NEED to be eaten with butter. I’m enjoying one right now before I sprint for the bus. Amazing.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Week In Review « Not Ready To Have It All - December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

