Da Cookies

On Monday I tried to do some things and failed so I went home and baked cookies. These are those cookies: Chocolate chip with dried apricots and a banana. The original recipe didn’t call for a banana, but I didn’t have enough butter and figured a banana would do about the same job.

What you’ll need (because believe me, you want to make these):

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup dried apricots, diced
  • 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1 banana
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine dry ingredients–flour, baking soda, salt–in a bowl with a whisk. Add chocolate chips and diced apricots. Set aside.

Mix the moist ingredient: butter, banana, and sugars first, then add those eggs one at a time. Finish with the vanilla.

Combine the wet and the dry. You can use an electric mixer if you’re fancy, but I stir by hand with a wooden spoon.

(I wish I had an electric mixer.)

Cover your dough with plastic wrap or aluminum foil and refrigerate for between 1 hour and 4 days. I know, I hate to wait too, but these chunky chewy cookies are worth it! I cooled my dough for about a day and a half.

Now it’s finally time to make cookies! Using an ice cream scoop, make a big ole ball. These guys will spread, so place eight 2-inch balls two inches apart. Refrigerate the remaining dough while these are baking. Cook at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, 18 was my sweet spot, and then *try* to let them cool before you gobble them all up. Ben and I definitely burnt our hands and mouths in that noble pursuit.

The result? Cookies that are huge, dense, moist, and overstuffed with chocolate and tangy apricot. I put two containers of these cookies in the freezer for Thanksgiving–I may or may not have gone through one with my family after dinner tonight.

This is a recipe you’ll want to keep around.

Tags: , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Leave a Reply

