Today I Freaked Out, And I Dealt With It By Baking Cookies

(Ok, the cookies really haven’t been baked yet, but the dough is cooling in the fridge for an hour and I want to use this time to write a blog post.)

I had a doctor’s appointment this morning at 10:30. After seeing an ad in the Stranger on Friday for a full health check-up and chiropractic x-ray for $40 (a $249 value!), I called and set a time for today. I’ve been having random ongoing aches and pains since moving to Seattle; last week, I could hardly lift my right arm, it hurt so badly. Maybe I’m stressing my body at work, maybe it’s the hills, or maybe I’m just getting old! Anyway, that’s what I wanted to find out from the doctor!

So, I set my alarm. I woke up early. I looked up the directions before I left, and I got nervous on the bus and got off at the wrong stop. Right street, wrong cross-street. Tried calling Ben for help, and he told me the directions were pretty complicated and the place was pretty far away. I hung up. He says he was trying to help me and I wasn’t being patient enough, but what I heard was him telling me it was too hard to try and that I shouldn’t’ve gotten off at the wrong stop in the first place.

Walked home in the pouring rain. Sneakers soaked through. Cried. And then, instead of turning to the less healthy stress-management solutions I often rely on, I texted my friends. I complained. I told the truth. I cried some more. And then I got out of bed, looked up that cookie recipe that’s been holding court in the back of my consciousness, and got to work.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Da Cookies « Not Ready To Have It All - November 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

