Why Can’t I Control My Emotions?

Due to the position of Saturn or my own emotional immaturity, since I moved to Seattle I have made a habit of flinging myself on the couch and sobbing uncontrollably. Things didn’t used to be this way. Or am I remembering a rosier past when in fact I have always been ridiculous?

Let’s talk about what’s been happening recently.

  • Cried at work while opening and setting up the restaurant because my manager changed the schedule and I thought I would have to work two full days while my family is visiting next week (got the shifts covered)
  • Dramatically threw my bus money at the wall and fell sobbing on the couch because I thought the bus was going to come before I had time to brush my teeth (there was a later bus)
  • Tearfully collapsed on the couch because a drawer got jammed and I couldn’t retrieve a measuring spoon in the middle of baking muffins (Ben fixed it)
  • Spent hours sobbing in bed then hours alternately fighting with and refusing to speak to Ben because he went to a movie instead of hanging out with me after a hard night at work
  • Screamed and cried between 4 a.m. and 6 a.m. because I was tired
  • Screamed and cried between 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. because I slept too late and the day was ruined

Am I a toddler? Am I teething? Is this puberty? What do other people do when consumed with sadness and rage?

In other news, it’s poor Ben and my one-year-anniversary tomorrow. On Sunday we are celebrating with a SURPRISE (for him)! I can’t tell you in case he reads this. (Ben, if you are reading this, blink twice.)

In an effort to get back to a happier self, I made muffins. They were good, but not spectacular. I could hardly taste the ginger. I didn’t take pictures.

Ta-ta for now!

Tags: , , , ,

About Emily Suggests

Pineapple rock, lemon platt, butter scotch. A sugarsticky girl shovelling scoopfuls of creams for a christian brother.

Leave a Reply

